Scholarship recipients, back row from left, are: De’miah Cole, Lukas Moore, Jay Raymond Floyd Whitfield, Taniya Foster, Savana Mayhann, and Ashley Thompson. Front row, from left, are Education Chairman Crystal Ake, Club President Terri Norris, Haylee Webb, Kennedy Murphy and Ar’mya Foster. Not pictured is Hope Thompson. [ Patricia Fisher | Wewa Woman’s Club ]
| | |

Banquet celebrates scholarship winners, club achievements

For decades, the GFWC Wewahitchka Woman’s Club has been a cornerstone of community support, particularly for the graduating seniors of Wewahitchka High School. This year, the club invited scholarship winners to their end-of-year banquet, where they were honored alongside club members who received awards, and officers for 2024-26 administration were installed.

The banquet was a momentous occasion filled with pride and celebration as proud family members gathered to witness the recognition of the outstanding students. The scholarship recipients for this year were Jay Raymond Floyd Whitfield, Savana Bleu Mayhann, Haylee Webb, Kennedy Murphy, Ashley Thompson, Hope Thompson, Ar’mya Foster, De’miah Cole, Lukas Moore, and Taniya Foster. These students were acknowledged not only for their academic achievements but also for their dedication, perseverance and volunteering throughout their high school years.

GFWC Wewahitchka Woman’s Club President Terri Norris and Education Chairman Crystal Ake had the honor of presenting certificates to all the scholarship winners. In their addresses, both Norris and Ake expressed heartfelt congratulations to the students and their families, emphasizing the club’s ongoing commitment to fostering educational opportunities and supporting the youth in their community. 

In addition to celebrating the scholarship recipients, the banquet also served as a platform to honor club members for their contributions and achievements over the past year. Awards were presented to members who had shown exceptional dedication and service. Furthermore, the event included the installation of new officers, ensuring the club’s strong leadership and continued success in its future endeavors.

The GFWC Wewahitchka Woman’s Club will not be holding their regular general meetings throughout June and July. Instead, the members will be busy planning their upcoming calendar of events. The club is a non-profit 501(c)(3) volunteer charity organization dedicated to promoting and providing civic, educational, and charitable activities that enrich the lives and environment in the Wewahitchka area. For more information, please contact us at

Meet the Editor

David Adlerstein, The Apalachicola Times’ digital editor, started with the news outlet in January 2002 as a reporter.

Prior to then, David Adlerstein began as a newspaperman with a small Boston weekly, after graduating magna cum laude from Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts. He later edited the weekly Bellville Times, and as business reporter for the daily Marion Star, both not far from his hometown of Columbus, Ohio.

In 1995, he moved to South Florida, and worked as a business reporter and editor of Medical Business newspaper. In Jan. 2002, he began with the Apalachicola Times, first as reporter and later as editor, and in Oct. 2020, also began editing the Port St. Joe Star.

Wendy Weitzel The Star Digital Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.