Tiger Shark senior quarterback Devin Cuttino [ Amber Jones | Contributed ]
| | |

Gainer, Cuttino MVPs of Tiger Shark football

The Port St. Joe Tiger Sharks 2023-24 football banquet Feb. 1 presented a slew of awards.

Named offensive most valuable player was senior Devin Cuttino, who completed 66 of 111 passes, a nearly 60 percent completion rate, for 1,010 yards, seven touchdowns and just two interceptions. He also carried the ball 107 times for 1,092 yards, and even caught three passes for 71 yards.

Tiger Shark junior Chance Gainer, with the Travis TJ Jenkins award. [ Amber Jones | Contributed ]

Named defensive MVP was junior Chance Gainer, who had 41 tackles, including 17 solos, plus five interceptions for 40 yards. He also received the Travis TJ Jenkins award. 

Offensive back of the year honors went to senior Marcus Clayton, who carried the ball 34 times for 259 yards, and scored three touchdowns.

Linebacker of the Year honors went to sophomore Asher Peacock, who had 126 tackles for the season, 55th in the state and seventh in Division 1 (Rural). 

Pride of the Shark honors went to Jacob Marshall, with 97 tackles, and seven solos.

The Andrew Sheppard Award went to freshman Braden Thomas. The Special Teams award went to senior Estevan Angel.

The Offensive Lineman of the year award went to senior Uwenses Benedict. 

The Woodsman Extra Effort award went to sophomore Corban Butts, and the Captains awards went to Benedict and Cuttino.

The Tigers Sharks finished 7-5.

Meet the Editor

David Adlerstein, The Apalachicola Times’ digital editor, started with the news outlet in January 2002 as a reporter.

Prior to then, David Adlerstein began as a newspaperman with a small Boston weekly, after graduating magna cum laude from Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts. He later edited the weekly Bellville Times, and as business reporter for the daily Marion Star, both not far from his hometown of Columbus, Ohio.

In 1995, he moved to South Florida, and worked as a business reporter and editor of Medical Business newspaper. In Jan. 2002, he began with the Apalachicola Times, first as reporter and later as editor, and in Oct. 2020, also began editing the Port St. Joe Star.

Wendy Weitzel The Star Digital Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.