Hurricane, pandemic won’t deter Class of 2021

Parents, family, friends and especially young people will be
all smiles this weekend, as the Class of 2021 receives their diplomas at the
two Gulf County high schools.

Ravaged by a hurricane, and culminating in a pandemic, this
senior class will go down as one of the most resilient, as seniors prepare to
enter the world armed not only with a textbook education, but a real world
lesson in the twists and turns of life.

Spurred on by the class motto “In spite of Hurricane Michael
and the Pandemic, we ain’t dead yet,” the members of the Port St. Joe High
School Class of 2021 will graduate on Thursday, May 20 at 7 p.m. at the high

Leading the class will be the eight Summa Cum Laude grads,
those with highest honors: Max Covan, Bryson Lee, Leanna Baumgardner, Camille Trochessett,
Zoe Hoban, Allie Godwin, Philip Riley, Annabelle Bowns, and Analisa Treglown.

Those nine Magna Cum Laude grads, with high honors, include
Zoe Gerlach, Ava Neill, Damon Vaughn, Alex Strickland, Austin Jones, Savannah Burkett,
Hannah Tomlinson, Noah Barfield, and Gabrielle Nicodemus.

Cum Laude graduates, with honors, include Carter Dorsch, Blake
Gay, Brooklyn Sheppard, Lyndsey Butler, Judson Griffies, Amari Nickson, Gabrielle
Burtnett, Noah Bell, Caleb Wright, Mattison Mills, Mary-Kate Wood, Jon Michael
Cates, Damian Harrison, Macie Smith, and Sheretta Thomas.

Rounding out the remainder of the 71-member class are Austin
Ard, Caleb Bailey, Brianna Baker, Keydi Cruz-Rodriguez, Jacob Davis, Trayton Dockery, Weston Edwards, Dorian Fleming,
Israel Goldsborough, Tyler Hillman, Mason Hobbs, Jacob Hopper, Kurtis Howard, Corbin
Ingalls, Chloe Jones, Chasity Kaleta-Gonzalez, Kevin LaCivita II, Kamaya Larry,
Lanecia Larry, Jasmine Levins, Bradley Lewis, Tyrell Martin, James McCall, Joshua
Odom, Dallas Padilla, Corey Phelps, Luis Ponce, Hailey Reynolds, Allysia Royal,
Chesley Shaw, Coveny Sidberry, Zireya Skeith, Michael Strickland, Bobby Tipton,
Emma Tolley, Caden Turrell, Davis Varnes and Alayna Willis.

The class this year was led by President Judson Griffies, Vice
President Camille Trochessett, Secretary Bryson Lee, Treasurer Gabrielle
Nicodemus and Communications Savannah Burkett.

Under a similar motto, “COVID-19 and Hurricanes!” the
Wewahitchka High School Class of 2021 will graduate on Friday, May 21 at 7 p.m.
at the high school.

Graduating Summa Cum Laude, with highest honors, will be
Santana Causey and Dominica Dennis.

Magna Cum Laude graduates, those with high honors, will be
Mariah Baker, Stephanie Bronson, Landin Johnson, Aeidyn Jones, Tamiah Rouse,
Matthew Suit and Christian Ward.

Cum Laude graduates, with honors, are Mario Cole Jr., Keegan
Calhoun, Kieara Desrosier, Lee Holton, Kaylee Jones, Brandon Paul, Autumn
Minchew, Cynthia Taylor, and Lydia Swigart.

Rounding out the 47-member class are Nicholas Carr, Robert
Coxwell, Haley Endres, Avery Fisher,
Robert Fowler, Jennifer Fuller, Brady Gainous, Emrys Grider, Bailey Hurst,
Jacob Jensen, Zachary Kemp, Jayla Kist, Christian Mann, Madison McDaniel, Garrett Miller, Madilyn Morgan, Jala
Moulds, Brasean Murray, Harley Redd, Jamie Salerno, Andrew Simmons, Kyler
Stoker, Zachary Sullivan, Malia Topham, Brittany Tuttle, McKayla Vizenor,
Kaylee Wessel, Deandria Williams and Kelli Wolinski.

The class this year was led by President Mariah Baker,
Vice-President Kelli Wolinski, Secretary Jala Moulds and Treasurer Tamiah


Meet the Editor

David Adlerstein, The Apalachicola Times’ digital editor, started with the news outlet in January 2002 as a reporter.

Prior to then, David Adlerstein began as a newspaperman with a small Boston weekly, after graduating magna cum laude from Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts. He later edited the weekly Bellville Times, and as business reporter for the daily Marion Star, both not far from his hometown of Columbus, Ohio.

In 1995, he moved to South Florida, and worked as a business reporter and editor of Medical Business newspaper. In Jan. 2002, he began with the Apalachicola Times, first as reporter and later as editor, and in Oct. 2020, also began editing the Port St. Joe Star.

Wendy Weitzel The Star Digital Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.